The Complete Guide: Hellraiser Movies in Order (How to Watch the Series)

The “Hellraiser” series has been a cornerstone of horror cinema since its inception, captivating audiences with its unique blend of visceral gore and intricate mythology. With its iconic villain, Pinhead, and the exploration of pleasure and pain, the “Hellraiser” franchise has spawned multiple sequels and spin-offs. In this article, we will provide you with the chronological order of the “Hellraiser” movies, offering a guide on how to watch the series and delve into the twisted world of the Cenobites.

Hellraiser (1987)

The journey begins with the original film simply titled “Hellraiser.” Directed by Clive Barker, this horror masterpiece introduces viewers to the puzzle box known as the Lament Configuration, which opens the doorway to a realm of sadomasochistic demons called Cenobites. Follow Kirsty Cotton as she becomes entangled in a world of horror and desire. “Hellraiser” sets the stage for the franchise’s dark and twisted universe.

Hellbound: Hellraiser II (1988)

Continuing directly after the events of the first film, “Hellbound: Hellraiser II” takes viewers deeper into the mythology of the Cenobites. Kirsty Cotton finds herself in a mental institution where she uncovers the secrets of her past and the origins of the puzzle box. This sequel expands the “Hellraiser” universe and delves into the dark and terrifying world of Hell.

Hellraiser III: Hell on Earth (1992)

In “Hellraiser III: Hell on Earth,” Pinhead escapes from Hell and begins to wreak havoc in the mortal realm. This installment brings the Cenobites into the modern world and introduces a new group of characters caught in the path of Pinhead’s sadistic desires. Brace yourself for more gruesome encounters and a deeper exploration of the demonic forces at play.

Hellraiser: Bloodline (1996)

“Hellraiser: Bloodline” takes a unique approach by exploring the origins of the puzzle box and its creator, as well as the continued battle between the Cenobites and their adversaries across different time periods. This film provides a broader perspective on the mythology of the series and offers a glimpse into the history of the Lament Configuration.

Hellraiser: Inferno (2000)

With “Hellraiser: Inferno,” the series takes a more psychological and surreal turn. This installment follows a corrupt detective who becomes entangled in a nightmarish world of guilt and torment. “Hellraiser: Inferno” delves into the psychological horrors of the human mind and the consequences of one’s actions.

Hellraiser: Hellseeker (2002)

In “Hellraiser: Hellseeker,” a man wakes up from a car accident to find his life unraveling in a series of bizarre and horrific events. As he tries to uncover the truth, he realizes that the Cenobites may be behind his torment. This film presents a twisted narrative that blurs the lines between reality and Hell’s dark influence.

Hellraiser: Deader (2005)

“Hellraiser: Deader” follows a reporter who becomes entangled in a cult that worships the puzzle box. As she delves deeper into the mysteries surrounding the box and the cult’s practices, she discovers the horrifying consequences of their actions. Prepare for a descent into madness and a darker exploration of the Cenobite mythology.

Hellraiser: Hellworld (2005)

With “Hellraiser: Hellworld,” the series takes a different direction by incorporating the world of online gaming and virtual reality. A group of gamers attends a Hellraiser-themed party, only to find themselves trapped in a twisted game orchestrated by Pinhead himself. This installment brings a new level of technological horror to the franchise.

Hellraiser: Revelations (2011)

In “Hellraiser: Revelations,” two friends unleash the horror of the Cenobites when they open the puzzle box during a trip to Mexico. This film offers a fresh perspective on the series, introducing new characters and diving into the consequences of their actions. It is notable for being the first “Hellraiser” film not to feature Doug Bradley as Pinhead.

Hellraiser: Judgment (2018)

The most recent installment in the series, “Hellraiser: Judgment,” sees a group of detectives investigating a series of brutal murders while encountering the Cenobites and their judgment upon the wicked. This film explores themes of morality and punishment, bringing a fresh take on the “Hellraiser” mythology.


The “Hellraiser” series has thrilled and terrified audiences with its dark and visceral depiction of pleasure and pain. From the original film to the latest installments, the franchise has evolved, delving deeper into the twisted world of the Cenobites. By following the chronological order of the “Hellraiser” movies, you can immerse yourself in the intricate mythology and experience the evolving horror that the series has to offer. Prepare for a journey into the depths of Hell and the sadistic delights of Pinhead and his Cenobite minions.

Leave a Comment